Facebook Password Reset Confirmation emails carry malware

Filed Under: Facebook, Malware, Social networks, Spam

Are you one of the more than 300 million active users of Facebook?

If you are, then be very careful if you receive an unsolicited email claiming to come from

"The Facebook Team" <service@facebook.com>

which tells you that they have changed your password:

Facebook password reset confirmation email

The emails, which all have the subject line "Facebook password resent confirmation email.", claim that the recipient's new password is contained in the attached file (named Facebook_Password_4cf91.zip).

The reality, of course, is that these emails are not really from Facebook and have been spammed out widely across the internet. The "from" address has been forged, and the attached file is in fact a piece of malware. (Sophos detects the malware as Troj/BredoZp-M or Mal/Bredo-A)

Don't make life easy for the hackers hell-bent on infecting your computer, stealing your identity and emptying your bank account - exercise caution when you receive unsolicited emails and protect your computer with up-to-date security software.

If you're a regular user of Facebook, be sure to join the Sophos page on Facebook to be kept informed of the latest security threats.

,

You might like

About the author

Graham Cluley runs his own award-winning computer security blog, and is a veteran of the anti-virus industry having worked for a number of security companies since the early 1990s. Now an independent security analyst, he regularly makes media appearances and gives computer security presentations. Send Graham an email, subscribe to his updates on Facebook, follow him on Twitter and App.net, and circle him on Google Plus for regular updates.