Email from support@twitter.com? It's a Viagra spammer

Filed Under: Social networks, Spam

Have you received an email from Twitter support today? Well, think again. Because it could be that you have just received a message from a spammer trying to lure you into clicking on a link to their online drugstore.

It may look like a message from support@twitter.com, but trust me that email about an "unreadable" message is really designed to bring you to an all-too-familiar Canadian Pharmacy website selling the likes of Viagra and Cialis.

Spam email pretending to come from Twitter support

Clicking on the link (which doesn't really go to Twitter) takes you to what appears to be a hacked HTML page on a legitimate site that then redirects you to a domain hosting an online pharmacy. Here's another example we've seen with slightly different wording:

Spam email pretending to come from Twitter support

As always, be suspicious of unsolicited emails, and never buy goods advertised to you via spam. If people didn't purchase items marketed in this way there would be a lot less unsolicited email.

Which reminds me. Over on his blog, Duck is helping SophosLabs conduct research into the effectiveness of spam in 2010. Why not take this poll and tell us if you've ever bought anything promoted via junk email. Go on, be honest...

,

About the author

Graham Cluley is senior technology consultant at Sophos. The readers of Computer Weekly voted him security blogger of the year in 2009 and 2010, and he pipped Stephen Fry to the title of "Twitter user of the year" too. Which was nice. He was also named "Best Security Blogger" by the readers of SC Magazine in 2011. You can subscribe to Graham's updates on Facebook, follow him on Twitter and circle him on Google Plus for regular updates.