The 'Never gonna drink Coca Cola again' Facebook scam

Filed Under: Data loss, Facebook, Social networks, Spam

If one of your friends said they were never going to drink Coca Cola again after watching a horrific video, would you be tempted to watch the video?

Judging by the number of Facebook users who have posted status updates claiming they are never going to drink Coca Cola again, it seems plenty found it an invitation impossible to resist.

Never gonna drink Coca Cola again

A typical message reads:

<name> I am part of the 98.0% of people that are NEVER gonna drink Coca Cola again after this HORRIFIC video --> http://www.[removed]

Find out the TRUTH about Coke!!!

If you do click on the link you will find yourself on a website saying that "9/10 People said they WOULDNT drink Coca Cola After seeing this video!!!" above a thumnail of a video which says that "Coca Cola can't hide its crimes".

Horrific video?

Perhaps surprisingly, this webpage isn't exploiting the now familiar clickjacking technique to falsely claim that the Facebook user "Like"s the page without the user's permission. Instead, they say you can't watch the "horrific video" until you've shared the link on Facebook by hand seven times.

You haven't done enough of the scammers work for them

Scammers want you to repost the message seven times

The page claims to poll whether you have shared the link enough (in order to allow the video to be viewed). But when you realise you're not making any progress - despite your valiant attempts to recommend the link to all and sundry - you might hit the link which says:

>>>Cant Be Botherd To Wait? --> Click Here To Skip This<<<

And this link takes you to a survey which asks you for all sorts of personal information.

So, let's recap.

You're on Facebook. One of your friends posts that they are part of the 98.0% of people that are never going to drink Coca Cola again after watching a horrific video. You visit the link to see what all the fuss is about, click on "Like" or "Share" umpteen times to distribute the link to your friends, and end up answering all kinds of questions and giving away personal information.

Meanwhile, all your friends are also clicking "Like", posting links to their friends, answering questions and giving their personal data away, and never actually seeing what they started out wanting to see. Meanwhile their friends..

and so on..

If you're a regular user of Facebook, be sure to join the Sophos page on Facebook to be kept informed of the latest security threats.

, ,

You might like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

About the author

Graham Cluley runs his own award-winning computer security blog, and is a veteran of the anti-virus industry having worked for a number of security companies since the early 1990s. Now an independent security analyst, he regularly makes media appearances and gives computer security presentations. Send Graham an email, subscribe to his updates on Facebook, follow him on Twitter and App.net, and circle him on Google Plus for regular updates.