LinkedIn spam campaign promotes Viagra-pushing website

Filed Under: Featured, Social networks, Spam

Have you received a message from LinkedIn asking you to confirm your email address?

Well, be careful before you click on the link in your inbox, as it could be scammers trying to dupe you into doing something else entirely.

Here's a spam message that I saw, pretending to come from LinkedIn.

LinkedIn spam campaign

It arrived at an email address that I have never used for LinkedIn, so my alarm bell was already ringing. My natural instincts told me it was suspicious, and I guessed that if I clicked on "click here" I would be taken to a phishing website.

But I was wrong. When I did click on the first link in the email I wasn't taken to a site trying to get my LinkedIn username and password. Instead, I was redirected to a online pharmaceutical store, offering to improve my performance between the sheets with a little help from Viagra, Cialis and Levitra.

Website promoted by LinkedIn spam

Of course, it's impossible for me to know with certainty whether the sexual performance drugs sold by this website are legitimate or not (The SophosLabs budget doesn't extend far enough to encourage purchasing penis pills online), but my advice would be to exercise extreme caution.

If you really need help in that department, I would advise going to your doctor rather than reaching for your mouse button.

Chances are that whoever sent out the spam is earning affiliate commission by tricking people into visiting the website.

I doubt this dubious sullying of LinkedIn's image is raising a smile amongst the business networking site's owners.

And don't forget, the precise same method could be used to spread malicious links designed to infect your computer.

By the way, if you are on LinkedIn you might want to join the Naked Security LinkedIn group for the latest news and views.

, , , ,

3 Responses to LinkedIn spam campaign promotes Viagra-pushing website

  1. VGA says:

    One of our guys at work clicked on this link and it down loaded a spam bot and got us put on a few black lists, it has taken two weeks to fix all the resulting issues.

  2. Darryl Hughes says:

    Yes, the light turns on. I was wondering how the mongrels got hold of my email for all of those bloody Viagra emails. Sick of deleting them and can't seem to junk them because there is a different "sender" every time. Any assistance would be gratefully appreciated.

  3. @jbmodnar says:

    Does this one have anything to do with the Viagra spam we keep getting from Amazon?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

About the author

Graham Cluley has worked in the computer security industry for more than 20 years, developing anti-virus software and doing quite a lot of talking about internet threats. He's won awards for his blogging, but is proudest of the text adventure games he wrote when he was still wearing short trousers. You can learn more about those (the games, not the trousers) at grahamcluley.com. Send Graham an email, subscribe to his updates on Facebook, follow him on Twitter and App.net, and circle him on Google Plus for regular updates.