Huawei UK makes a blunder with its online careers page

Filed Under: Malware, Phishing, Security threats

HuaweiTechnology giant Huawei has been in the news lately, with US investigators pushing for the Chinese company's telecommunications products to be banned because of spying and surveillance concerns because of the firm's close ties to the Chinese Communist Party and People’s Liberation Army.

As Mikko Hypponen pointed out on Twitter, it's odd that China hasn't responded with a tit-for-tat warning to Chinese companies not to do business with Cisco and Intel because of their US government links.

Anyroad, maybe the news stories have piqued your interest in Huawei, and you are wondering if there are any career opportunities with the world's largest maker of telecommunications equipment.

So, you might visit their website. Here's their UK site, for instance..

Huawei's UK website

And if you scroll down the page, you'll find a link to their careers information entitled "Job Seekers"..

Navigation on Huawei's UK website

The link takes you to www.huawei-careers.com, which seems reasonable enough.

But there's a problem. Because when you visit that page, you are actually taken to a GoDaddy page instead.

Huawei Careers?

At first, I worried that Huawei had forgotten to pay the bill to have their domain renewed, and that any malicious phisher or cybercriminal could purchase the page and hijack it for their own purposes.

The risk would then be that a cybercriminal could buy the domain for themselves and either post up a convincing replica of what a Huawei Careers page would probably look like, and steal personal information from potential job hunters - or simply plant malware on a page infecting anyone who visits.

And the malicious webpage would be all the more convincing because Huawei UK's legitimate site would be pointing at it.

But it looks like Huawei bought the domain in 2011, and simply hasn't done anything with it - leaving an ugly GoDaddy holding page in its place. Yes, GoDaddy is offering to help people buy the huawei-careers.com domain, but only by brokering a deal with Huawei Technologies.

GoDaddy says it will help you buy huawei-careers.com

I guess Huawei aren't really that keen on hiring people in the UK if this is where British job hunters are directed.

We informed Huawei's UK office about the issue by telephone and email. Hopefully they can fix the error quickly, and point to a genuine careers page.

All in all, it's not a big disaster - but it certainly looks unprofessional. And it could have been much worse.

It's certainly not quite as embarrassing as how the Serious Organised Crime Agency (SOCA) allowed the domain of the National High Tech Crime Unit (NHTCU) to expire, and be grabbed by a third party opportunist, as we reported back in 2008.

There's a clear message here - all organisations must take proper care of their website domains, and check that your site is linking where you think it's linking.

Hat-tip: Thanks to the anonymous Naked Security reader who sent us a tip about this.

, , , , , ,

One Response to Huawei UK makes a blunder with its online careers page

  1. Chao says:

    Hello,there
    Is there still a same problem as you descibed? I made it icareer.huawei.com/globalv/default.html when I clicked "Job Seekers" button.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

About the author

Graham Cluley has worked in the computer security industry for more than 20 years, developing anti-virus software and doing quite a lot of talking about internet threats. He's won awards for his blogging, but is proudest of the text adventure games he wrote when he was still wearing short trousers. You can learn more about those (the games, not the trousers) at grahamcluley.com. Send Graham an email, subscribe to his updates on Facebook, follow him on Twitter and App.net, and circle him on Google Plus for regular updates.