What’s next for the Internet of Things? [Security SOS Week]

SOS Week Day 5

Every day this week, Sophos’s top security gurus will be stepping up to the microphone to share their expertise with you, free of charge.

In each 30-minute webinar, Naked Security’s very own Paul Ducklin will be interviewing our experts to help you cut through the jargon and understand the real issues in computer security today.

Each webinar will take place at 2pm UK time (14:00 UTC, 15:00 CET; 10:00 EDT), and will consist of about 20 minutes of live interview, followed by 10 minutes of questions and answers.

Today’s webinar: What’s next for the Internet of Things?

Today, Paul Ducklin is talking to Sophos Senior Security Advisor Chester Wisniewski.

The Internet of Things (IoT) is exciting, and fun, and just the ticket for early adopters and technophiles. But there’s a problem: many of these “things” are really just tiny computers, built down to a price, where security takes fifth place, if it has a place at all.

Should you join in the fun and put your kettle online, or be a stick-in-the-mud and maybe miss out on the next big thing?

Chester Wisniewski will tell you how you can dip your toes in the IoT water right now without plunging straight into trouble – as well as explaining how you can help us make the next generation of “things” secure by design.

Register now!

Miss yesterday’s webinar? Listen now to Fraser Howard’s explanation of how cyber tools work together and what we can do to get the better of them.